Annual Challenge

Challenge Participants

The 2022 3M Young Scientist Challenge Finalists, State Merit Winners, and Honorable Mentions have been announced! Use the tabs below to check out their big ideas and explore all finalists, winners, mentors, and judges!

Nancy Addison

During the past three years, Nancy has assisted in the expansion of the STEM magnet programs in CMS through targeted professional development for staff and recommendations for quality STEM curriculum materials for students.

Sergio Anaya

With a strong background in History, Anthropology and Instructional Technology, Mr. Anaya provides support to curriculum development.

Tina Powers Garrett

As a Prekindergarten through twelfth grade STEM Coordinator, Tina sets high goals for the district curriculum and for all educators while being a role model for students.

Dr. James M. Jonza

For three decades, Dr. James M. Jonza has improved lives by pioneering technology advancements in films.

Dr. Cindy Moss

As senior director of global STEM initiatives for Discovery Education, Dr.Moss designs, develops and implements initiatives to inspire students’ curiosity in STEM.

Michael O'Toole

O’Toole has been immersed in education and coaching for more than two decades.

Dr. Joe Oxman

Currently a corporate scientist with 3M's Oral Care Division, Dr. Oxman has worked at 3M for 34 years and has 99 issued patents.